Infra Red Lavender

When I received my D300, my trusty D100 was hardly ever used again.  As I watched the prices continue to drop on used D100’s I decided to have the body converted to infrared by Digital Silver Imaging .  I had done a lot of research before I decided to commit as once the camera is converted, that’s in, there’s no going back.  I went with the 715 nano meter set up as it allows some color and also can be converted fairly easily to B/W.

I took a class on infrared photography at the Photographic Center North West in Seattle some years ago and was absolutely fascinated by the capabilities.  I was using the D100 and in order to gain infrared capabilities, I purchased a 70nm red filter for use on my “standard” mid-range lens (43-86 mm).  With filters you have to get the size that fits the lens and as expensive as the single filter was, I used only the 43-86mm for the class.

Infra Red converted to b/w - Graham Marsh 2007

70nm Infra Red before conversion – Graham Marsh 2007

The filter was a deep, deep, deep red, almost black looking.  Needless to say, once you placed the filter on the lens you completely lost any ability to focus.  Period!  The problem was that the 43-86 mm lens was a twist focus which made accurate focusing once you put the filter on neigh impossible.  I would focus, carefully hold the barrel, placed the filter on as gently as possible, took a deep breath and took the shot.  The complexity of putting the filter on invariably shifted the focus a bit.  As you can imagine, the images were a little soft as you can see below:

Infrared converted to b/w - Graham marsh 2007

70nm Infrared converted to b/w – Graham marsh 2007

The other problem with using the 70nm infrared filter was the light loss.  The light difference when I put the filter on was a full 10 stops.  Yes, 10!  How do I know this…one of our assignment was to do a step test on a fixed subject using an insane number of plus and minus adjustments.  Once the proof was printed, it was a simple matter of figuring out the light stop difference.  Needless to say, the camera was always on a tripod.

The infrared bug had bit so I began doing the research for the time when I could swing the conversion, both from having camera body to be converted and the best price for a quality conversion, hence, Digital Silver Imaging.  After the D300 was in my hands, I checked their website and, to my surprise, they were offering a sale on the conversion.  I sent the camera in and about two weeks later it was in my hands, complete with a custom profile.  No more filters to worry about and I had full control through the view finder. After a few test shots, I was hooked.  Here they are:

My first infrared with the converted D100 - Purple Birch & pines during a storm

My first infrared with the converted D100 – Purple Birch & pines during a storm

My favorite lavender plant in infrared - Nov 2012

My favorite lavender plant converted to b/w - Nov 2012

My favorite lavender plant converted to b/w – Nov 2012

Lavender in Macro - final version converted from infrared in NIK Software Silver FX Pro 2

Lavender in Macro – final version converted from infrared in NIK Software Silver FX Pro 2

Tools:  D100 with 70nm infrared filter; All other images with the converted D100; Nikon Capture NX2; NIK Silver FX Pro 2

This entry was posted in The Daily Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

