May 25, 2014: The Nikon Df…My Camera for the Future

Earlier this year, after months of reviews since the Df came out, I decided to get one.  It was a huge decision due to the cost, especially as I hadn’t even held one yet.  Nonetheless, I went ahead with the purchase based on five factors:  1) It had the D4 sensor; 2) It did not have video capability; 3) It could take Nikon lens back to 1959; and 4) It was a smaller and lighter camera than the D800 which was the other Nikon I was considering and; 5) The file sizes (16 megs) were much smaller than the D800 (36 mp) .  The weight is important to me as I don’t have the shoulder strength (or range of motion) I used to have before my surgeries in 2012.

I have to tell you…it is an incredible camera and I’m glad I made the decision to own this camera for my photo work when I retire.  I’m not going to get into spec’s or pixel counting, there’s plenty of other sites and reviews that have more than covered these two aspects.

What I will tell you is that I have to agree with one of the reviewers who said they “just want to pick it up” (sorry, I read too many reviews to remember who).  It’s true, for the first time in a long time, I just want to pick it up and take photos.  And I do!

Winter night shot at 12,600 iso

Winter night shot at 12,600 iso

In my mind, the camera is responsive, takes incredible low light images with the “auto ISO” turned on, the jpegs right out of the camera can be used “as is” in most cases, the viewfinder is bright, I like the “retro dials”, the Live View is easy to use, and I particularly like that the “mirror up” mode is selectable as one of the shutter modes.  And, Nikon included a viewfinder “tab” that, when used, prevents stray light from entering through the view finder when in the mirror-up mode.

There was a bit of a learning curve when moving from the D300 (it was gifted to a good friend) to the Df in terms of readjusting to a full frame format.  It’s funny, before I went digital all you could shoot was “full frame” (tho’ not called that in the pre-digital days).  It was a short adjustment and I truly enjoy using the older lens in their full capability with the Df.  Now, 24 mm is 24 mm, not 36 mm as with the “crop” digital cameras.

Do I like this camera? Absolutely!  Will it last me a long time?  Yes…I can’t see upgrading for a very long time with 16 mb images that have resounding quality.  For the type of photography I do, e.g., landscapes, portraits, and macro work, the Df is more than enough for my needs for years to come.

Some more images.. 

Wild Bee and Spider

Wild Bee and Spider

Japanese Maple

Japanese Maple

View from Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

View from Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

View from Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

View from Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

Hawthorn in full bloom, Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

Hawthorn in full bloom, Titlow Beach, Tacoma, WA

Clouds, Graham, WA

Clouds, Graham, WA

View of Mt. Rainier, Graham, WA

View of Mt. Rainier, Graham, WA

2014-02-16_5400.1

Gracie

Gracie

Dragonfly in Snow

Dragonfly in Snow

 

Tomorrow…Memorial Day thoughts

 

 

This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

