May 20, 2015: Day 81 of 365 Daily Photos: Mt. St. Helen Patterns

Patterns have always fascinated me, whether man-made in architecture, in art (particularly M.C. Escher), or in nature.  When I see patters I will always try to capture it as I saw it.  If I  can capture the pattern when I see it, then I will.  If, however, I have to go back at later time, I’ll catalog the shot in my mind and when the time is right, go back.

On the Mt. St. Helens trip a few weeks ago, I observed a number of patterns when I was going up or coming down the mountain.

The first image is one I saw as I was heading up the mountain.  I stopped, walked across the road and took the photo.  When I look at the image later there were so many pines (literally, there were thousands) on the mountain side that I thought at first it wasn’t focused properly.  After some post processing, the rows stood out.

2015-04-19_2254 Pines in Sunrise, Mt. St. Helens

2015-04-19_2254 Pines in Sunrise, Mt. St. Helens

On the way down from the National Park observation point I made a few stops.  One was at Bear Creek and the others were to capture the light on the trees that caught my attention as I zipping down the highway.

You have to stop on the other side of the highway at the Bear Creek sign (whether going up or coming down) to really see the patterns when you look over the edge of the fence lining the highway.  It’s as if nature intentionally put on a show of the tree lines, the natural “v” that draws you down the tree line to the river bed below and then back up the other side of the Tootle river.  You really can’t see it as you drive up (or down) the highway unless you stop, cross the highway and look down.

Bear Creek View Point, Mt.s St. Helens

Bear Creek View Point, Mt.s St. Helens

While I was contemplating the view, a crow flew directly over me about 10 feet up.  It was so quite at the viewpoint, I could hear the sound the wings made as the crow flew through the air.  It was magical.  I’ve seen many, many crows both far and near over the years but this was the first time I could hear the wings moving through the air.

As I resumed my descent, I noticed how the sunlight was lighting up the trees in diagonal shafts….

Light Shafts Through the Trees, Mt. St. Helens

Light Shafts Through the Trees, Mt. St. Helens

All images taken with the Nikon Df.

This entry was posted in The Daily Photo and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

