September 3, 2015: Images from Ft. Flagler, Washington – Amendment

Update:  I realized I posted an example of what the 20mm F4 lens does with a landscape but not what it can do from an extreme close up.  With that in mind, here’s what the 20mm F4 lens is able to do from a few feet away.

2015-08-21_3523

My son and I went to Ft. Flagler, on August 21st.  He has a photo shoot for a client later this month at the site and, even though we’ve both been there before, we went out to get a more current understanding of the fort and the shoot sequence.   All in all, it was a pleasant day and there were great photo opportunities due to the weather and magnificent cloud formations.

This was an excellent opportunity to try out my “new” old lens, a Nikon 20mm F4 lens, I received for Father’s day this year from my wife.  While I’ve used it on a number of occasions since I received it, I wanted to see how it did in an environment that screamed for an ultra wide angle lens.  And, did it deliver!

Nikon Df, Nikon 20mm F4 lens @ f22, 1/500 sec, linear polarizer filter:

Thomas Wansboro Coastal gun emplacement

Thomas Wansboro Coastal gun emplacement

 

Of historical interest…whenI looked at the size of the emplacements and the thickness of the cement walls, it made me wonder how this was all accomplished when they began construction in the late 1890’s.  I did some quick research and here’s an excellent article on the history of the “Ring of Fire” and construction details.

This entry was posted in The Daily Photo, The Journey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

