February 4, 2016: Holm Oak In fog (in Infra-red)

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m experimenting with Capture One Pro 9 (CP 9) as my sole post processing software, rather doing preliminary work in CP 9 then opening up Photoshop for final image processing.

In earlier versions of CP (seven and eight) I had trouble processing intra-red images to the degree that I liked and found that the only way I could successfully make the IR image “pop” was to open Photoshop and use NIK software for the finishing touches.  It drove me nuts that I had to use multiple programs to complete one image from start to finish.  However, I wasn’t successful in producing a BW version that I liked.  I suspect that’s a shortcoming on my behalf in covering IR to BW using PS and NIK software, not the software itself.

Note: Both images taken with a Nikon D100 converted to IR

Here’s my original attempt to convert the IR image to BW (CP, PS, NIK process)

Holm Oak in Fog (IR)

I decided to redo a previous IR image that I processed with CP 8, PS, and NIK software to see if I could post process it solely in CP 9.

I reworked the image solely in CP 9 and was able to move it from the IR state into what I believe is a very nice black and white image that has that distinctive IR look.  I am very happy with this image and that the improvements in Capture One Pro 9 allowed me to produce the image results I’m looking for.  (Disclaimer:  I do not represent Capture One Pro 9 nor do I receive any benefits other that being an extremely satisfied user.)

Holm Oak In Fog (IR)

Holm Oak in Fog (IR)

Holm Oak in Fog (IR)

This entry was posted in The Journey and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

